Yesterday saw the release of the shortlist of nominees for this year’s Arthur C. Clarke Award and, as anyone near our twitter feed will know, we were delighted to see our own Dave Hutchinson among the final six with break-out hit Europe in Autumn.

Speaking in the wake of yesterday’s shortlist announcement the series’ editor Jonathan Oliver had this to say:

“Science fiction is often talked about as the fiction of ideas, and nowhere is this more true than in Dave Hutchinson’s brilliant debut novel, . Part political SF and part near-future espionage thriller, I knew from my first read-through that we had a truly extraordinary book on our hands. That the novel is now short-listed for the Clarke award is testament to Hutchinson’s talent and incisive prose. I’ve already read his next novel, Europe at Midnight, and I can confidently say that this is a writer going places; and it’s an honour to be his editor.”

We’d also like to take this moment to thank everyone who has bought, read, reviewed and talked about Europe in Autumn over the last fourteen months. We’ve been so delighted to see the continued outpouring of love for the title, and the excitement ahead of our recent prequel announcement for Europe at Midnight.

Set in a fracturing Europe, Europe at Midnight sees two men embark on a decades-long intelligence operation to penetrate the mysterious Community. What they find will make them question the nature of their lives and of reality itself.

From an immense university held captive by its masters to the quiet rooms of the intelligence community, a terrible secret spanning worlds begins to emerge…

Europe at Midnight appropriately publishes on the 5th November this year.

The final winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award will be announce on the 6th May at Foyles Flagship store in London and here is the final list of nominees, we couldn’t think of a better group of people to be among:

The Girl With All The Gifts – M.R. Carey (Orbit)

The Book Of Strange New Things – Michel Faber (Canongate)

Europe In Autumn – Dave Hutchinson (Solaris)

Memory Of Water – Emmi Itäranta (HarperVoyager)

The First Fifteen Lives Of Harry August – Claire North (Orbit)

Station Eleven – Emily St John Mandel (Picador)

Dave Hutchinson was born in Sheffield in 1960 and read American Studies at the University of Nottingham, before going on to become a journalist. He’s the author of six collections of short stories and the editor of three more. His novella ‘The Push’ was shortlisted for the BSFA Award in 2010, and his novel Europe In Autumn was shortlisted for both the BSFA Award and the Arthur C Clarke Award in 2015. He is also the author of the novel The Villages. A follow-up to Europe In Autumn, Europe At Midnight, will be published by Solaris in November.

He lives in London with his wife and a number of cats.