The Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year: Volume 9

Edited by Jonathan Strahan

UK: 9781781083086 | 21st May 2015 | £13.99
US: 9781781083277 | 12th May | $19.99

Available in paperback and ebook

Order: UK | US | DRM-free eBook

“Books as good as this should be of interest to any admirer of short fiction, regardless of genre.”
The Guardian on The Best Science Fiction & Fantasy of the Year: Volume Nine

Now in its ninth year Jonathan Strahan’s annual round-up of the best new and established SFF stories has rapidly become synonymous with the must-read short stories of the past year, with title highlights and authors frequently featuring across the board on prestigious genre award shortlists worldwide. Solaris Books was delighted to bring this acclaimed collection to the UK for the first time in 2014, where it was an instant success, and now for 2015 we’re proud to say that Strahan has once again collected the finest and most essential Science Fiction and Fantasy short fiction from the last twelve months.

Science fiction and fantasy has never been more diverse or vibrant, and 2014 has provided a bountiful crop of extraordinary stories. These stories are about the future, worlds beyond our own, the realms of our imaginations and dreams but, more importantly, they are the stories of ourselves. Featuring best-selling writers and emerging talents, here are some of the most exciting genre writers working today.

Multi-award winning editor Jonathan Strahan once again brings you the best stories from the past year. Within you will find twenty-eight amazing tales from authors across the globe, displaying why science fiction and fantasy are genres increasingly relevant to our turbulent world.

Featuring stories from Kelly Link, Holly Black, Ken Liu, Usman T. Malik, Lauren Beukes, Paolo Bacigalupi, Joe Abercrombie, Genevieve Valentine, Nicola Griffith, Caitlin R. Kiernan, Greg Egan, K. J. Parker, Rachel Swirski, Alice Sola Kim, Garth Nix, Karl Schroeder, Ellen Klages, Kai Ashante Wilson, Michael Swanwick, Eleanor Arnason, James Patrick Kelly, Ian McDonald, Amal El-Mohtar, Tim Maughan, Elizabeth Bear, Theodora Goss and Peter Watts.