Solaris, the multiple award-winning publisher of cutting edge science fiction and fantasy, is pleased to announce the acquistion of an incredible, thrilling new novel from veteran author E.M. Brown. 

Mutliple award-winning author Eric Brown heads in a bold new direction with this time-travel thriller and we couldn’t be more excited to add this to the growing list of excellent science fiction currently gracing the Solaris bookshelf. 

Discussing this latest news, editor-in-chief of Solaris Books, Jon Oliver stated: 

“Naturally, I’ve always known that Eric Brown is an extraordinary writer, and I’m proud to have published so many of his novels. But while Brown is brilliant at portraying complex science-fiction settings and penning compelling adventure stories, he is also an author capable of portraying the complexity of what it is to be human. Buying Time is a bold new venture for Brown, and one that will show just why he is so highly regarded in his field.”

Buying Time will be published by Solaris in May 2018. 


Buying Time
by E.M. Brown

“No man is rich enough to buy back his past” — Oscar Wilde.

In January 2017, something very strange happens to screen-writer Ed Richie. He wakes up one morening to find that he has been shunted back in time nine months and is now inhabiting the body of his younger self…

Worse is to come: the following day he jumps three years, to 2013, with all his memories of his intervening years intact. What is happening to him? Is he going mad? And where will his involuntary time-travel end? 

Meanwhile, in 2030, journalist Ella Croft is investigating the life of screen-writer and celebrated novelist Ed Richie, who mysteriously vanished in 2025. She interviews friends, acquintances, and old lovers — and what she discovers will change not only Ed Richie’s life, but her own…

Buying Time is a time-travel novel like no other. No man is rich enough to buy back his past — unless that man is Ed Richie…

About the author

Eric Brown began writing when he was fifteen years and sold his first short story to Interzone in 1986. He has won the British Science Fiction Award twice for his short stories, and his novel Helix Wars was shortlisted for the Philip K. Dick award. He has published sixty books, and his latest include the crime novel Murder Take Three, and the short stor collection Microcosms, with Tony Ballantyne. He has also written a dozen books for children and over a hundred and forty short stories. He writes a regular science fiction review column for the Guardian newspaper and lives in Cockburnspath, Scotland. His website can be found at