Dave Hutchinson’s Europe at Midnight has won the 2016 Arthur C Clarke Award.

Hutchinson’s beautifully crafted and timely tale of espionage and hidden realities in a broken near-future Europe wins the Award in his historic 30th year. 

The achievement is all the more impressive for Europe at Midnight being a companion novel- its forerunner, Europe in Autumn, was also shortlisted for the Arthur C Clarke Award in 2015, when it lost out to Emily St John Mandel’s Station Eleven

Europe at Midnight is the first time a novel from Solaris, Rebellion Publishing’s cutting edge science fiction and fantasy imprint, has won the award.

Solaris Editor-in-Chief Jonathan Oliver commented:

“Dave Hutchison’s Fractured Europe books are one of the most astonishingly prescient works of science fiction written in recent years. Not only has Dave got his finger on the pulse of an increasingly uncertain world, but he has also produced a series of highly original, brilliantly written and deeply unsettling near-future thrillers. We at Solaris couldn’t be more proud to be the publishers of this exciting, innovative and important voice in SF.”

The third part of the continuing Fractured Europe Seqeunce, Europe in Winter, is out in November 2016 and is available for preorder now.

About the Fractured Europe Sequence

Europe is crumbling. The Xian Flu pandemic and ongoing economic crises have fractured the European Union. The borderless Continent of the Schengen Agreement is a distant memory, and new nations are springing up everywhere, some literally overnight.

When Rudi, a chef from Krakow, is recruited by the shadowy organisation “Les Coureurs des Bois,” and schooled in espionage, he finds himself pulled into a world where kidnapping, double-crosses and a constantly re-drawn map are the norm.

But underneath his daily round of plot and counter plot, behind the conflicting territories, another entirely different Europe, a hidden continent existing alongside our own, might be pulling the strings.

But what is the Community, and how does its secret history affect Europe’s present?

Beginning with Europe in Autumn (2014), and continuing with Europe at Midnight (2015) and the soon to be published Europe in Winter (2017), the Fractured Europe Sequence is a near-future science fiction thriller in the finest traditions of the genre: exciting, prescient, and brilliant. 

About the author

Dave Hutchinson was born in Sheffield. After reading American Studies at the University of Nottingham, he became a journalist. He’s the author of five collections of short stories and one novel, and his novella The Push was shortlisted for the 2010 BSFA award for short fiction. Europe in Autumn, the first book in his Fractured Europe Sequence, was nominated for the Arthur C Clarke Award in 2015, as was its sequel, Europe at Midnight, in 2016. He lives in north London with his wife and several cats.

About Solaris

Solaris is Rebellion Publishing’s award-winning imprint dedicated science fiction, fantasy and horror. Founded in 2007, Solaris is committed to pushing the boundaries of genre fiction, discovering fresh and diverse new voices, and forging a new future for genre publishing. Solaris has published the likes of Dave Hutchinson, Gail Z Martin, Yoon Ha Lee and many more. 

For press enquiries, please contact rob.power@rebellion.co.uk.

Europe at Midnight is out now!
Buy: UK|US|Rebellion Store